Australian national team
Photo: Basketball World Cup

Australia announced on Thursday (23/05) the preliminary 17-man squad ahead of the 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup in China.

A total of nine NBA players are included in the squad, with Ben Simmons, Aron Baynes, Patty Mills and Joe Ingles headlining the group along with Andrew Bogut, Mitch Creek, Deng Adel, Jonah Bolden and Matthew Dellavedova.

There also seven holdovers from the team that finished among the top four at the 2016 Rio Olympics: Mills, Bogut, Ingles, Dellavedova, Baynes, Chris Goulding and Brock Motum.