Mansoor Ahmed

Great Britain have announced their final roster ahead of next week’s Eurobasket, where they will be housed in Istanbul, playing Latvia, Serbia, Belgium, Russia and hosts Turkey in Group D.

Jules Dang and Carl Wheatle reach the final stage after making the cut, while there is also room for Luke Nelson – all three make their debuts at a senior tournament as do Gabe Olaseni, Teddy Okereafor and Ben Mockford.

There are three changes from the 12 which saw them qualify from a group involving Hungary, Macedonia and Luxembourg last year and just six survivors from the squad from Britain’s last Eurobasket appearance in 2013.

Performances in preparation games have been encouraging despite a 1-5 record, particularly in defeats to Israel and particularly an 88-84 loss to Greece in London.

0Jules Dang6’121Burgos (ESP)
1Kyle Johnson6’428London Lightning (CAN)
2Carl Wheatle6’619Biella (ITA)
3Ben Mockford6’128Palma (ESP)
4Andrew Lawrence6’327Champagne Chalon-Reims (FRA)
5Teddy Okereafor6’324GS Kymis (GRE)
10Dan Clark6’1028Unattached
11Gareth Murray6’732Glasgow Rocks (BBL)
13Eric Boateng6’1131St Vallier Basket Drome (FRA)
19Luke Nelson6’422Gran Canaria (ESP)
20Kieron Achara6’1034Glasgow Rocks (BBL)
25Gabe Olaseni6’1025Fuenlabrada (ESP)