ImageThe ACB Assembly held in Barcelona confirmed that the 2009-2010 pro basketball season in Spain will start on October 2nd and 3rd with the Supercup. The opening tournament will be held in Las Palmas (Gran Canaria), and the four participating teams will be Regal FC Barcelona, Tau, Real Madrid and home team Gran Canaria.

The ACB championship will start the next weekend, on October 10, and will be made of 18 teams, with the recently promoted Valladolid, Lucentum Alicante and Obradoiro. The Cup will feature the top 8 teams at the middle of the season and will be played in Bilbao as previously announced (February 18 to 21).

Finally, there will be a change in relation to last season play off. In 2009-2010, the quarter finals will still be a best-of-three series, but both semifinals and the Finals will be best-of-five. Until now, semi finals were played in a best-of-three format.