Euroleague and Eurocup draws throw up some interesting openers

The 2015-16 Euroleague and Eurocup draws were made today in Barcelona with some intriguing ties to start the new season off.

In Group A, reigning champions Real Madrid will begin with ties against fellow Final Four participants Fenerbahce and last season’s Eurocup winners Khimki.

Group B features teams loaded with Euroleague experience in last season’s finalists Olympiacos, Anadolu Efes, Laboral Kutxa and EA7 Milano.

And in Group C, Barcelona and Panathinaikos will add at least two more chapters to their thrilling Euroleague rivalry.

Group A: Real Madrid, Fenerbahce, Khimki, Red Star Belgrade, Bayern Munich, Strasbourg

Group B: Olympiacos, Anadolu Efes, Labroal Kutxa, EA7 Milano, Cedevita Zagreb, Limoges

Group C: Barcelona, Panathinaikos, Lokomotiv Kuban, Zalgiris, Pinar Izmir, Stelmet Zielona Gora

Group D: CSKA Moscow, Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv, Unicaja Malaga, Darussafaka, Dinamo Sassari


Four teams that were involved in seven of the last 13 Eurocup titles will embark on their adventure in the second tier for this season with 36 teams competing overall.

It will start with six six-team round-robin, 10-game regular season groups. The competition system remains identical to last seasons; the top four teams from each regular season group will enter the Last 32 phase, where they will be joined by the eight teams from the Euroleague that did not qualify for that competition’s Top 16.

The Last 32 will feature eight groups of four teams; the best two teams from each group advance to the two-game, head-to-head, home-and-away total points Eurocup Eighth-finals series. The winning teams will play in identical formats in the quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals until a winner is crowned.

GROUP A: CEZ Nymburk, Bilbao,Union Olimpija, JSF Nanterre, Telekom Bonn, Dolomiti Trento

GROUP B: Alba Berlin, Gran Canaria, Telenet Oostende, Le Mans, Reggio Emilia, Enel Brindisi

GROUP C: Valencia, Zaragoza, Ratiopharm Ulm, SLUC Nancy, Spirou Charleroi, Reyer Venezia

GROUP D: UNICS Kazan, BK Banvit, Trabzonspor, Buducnost, Aris Thessaloniki, Steaua Bucharest

GROUP E: Besiktas, Lietuvos Rytas, Zenit, Avtodor Saratov, PAOK, Szolnoki Olaj

GROUP F: Galatasaray, Nizhny Novgorod, Krasny Oktyabr, Hapoel Jerusalem, AEK Athens, Neptunas