Photo: Euroleague Basketball

Despite the excitement of all Euroleague fans for the start of the 2020/21 season later this week, COVID-19 brings some changes for all the fans who wish to attend the games.

Euroleague Basketball announced that due to the pandemic, 11 of the 18 Euroleague teams will play without spectators following their national and/or local health guidelines. These are: three of the four clubs in Spain (FC Barcelona, Real Madrid, TD Systems Baskonia Vitoria-Gasteiz); both teams in Germany (ALBA Berlin, FC Bayern Munich), Greece (Olympiacos Piraeus, Panathinaikos OPAP Athens) and Turkey (Anadolu Efes Istanbul, Fenerbahce Beko Istanbul); and the single country representatives in Israel (Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv) and Serbia (Crvena Zvezda mts Belgrade).

The remaining 7 Euroleague teams are expected to welcome their fans this season but with a variety of limitations and restrictions. Between 400 and 7,500 socially-distanced fans, depending on the venue and country, are expected to be allowed into the arenas of AX Armani Exchange Milan, CSKA Moscow, Khimki Moscow Region, LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne, Valencia Basket, Zalgiris Kaunas and Zenit St Petersburg.

Similar rules apply to the 7DAYS EuroCup too depending on the country each club is based in.