Panathinaikos’ Stephane Lasme has won the Euroleague’s Defensive Player of the Year despite his side missing out on this year’s Final Four in London.

The forward from Gabon joins Dimitris Diamantidis as the second Panathinaikos player to ever win this award.

Lasme plenty to deserve the distinction. He ranked second the Euroleague for blocked shots [1.76 blocks per game] and he was tied for fourth in rebounding, averaging 6.14 per contest. Moreover, Lasme was the final line of defence for a rebuilt Panathinaikos squad, which finished the season with the second-fewest points allowed at 69.8 per game.


Other award winners:

Alphonso Ford Trophy (Top scorer) – Bobby Brown (Montepaschi Siena)


Rising Star Trophy – Kostas Papanikolaou (Olympiacos)