Field set for FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2020

FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments
Photo: FIBA.Basketball

All 16 teams that will compete in the FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2020 have been confirmed following the conclusion of the FIBA Women’s Olympic Pre-Qualifying Tournaments 2019 in Africa, Americas, and Asia-Oceania. 

The national teams of Mozambique and Nigeria claimed the two spots reserved for Africa, the Americas tournaments saw Brazil, Canada, Puerto Rico and the United States advance, while Australia, China, Japan and Korea progressed from Asia-Oceania.

Six teams from Europe had already qualified previously via the FIBA Women’s EuroBasket 2019.

The 16 teams qualified for the FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments:

Great Britain
Puerto Rico
South Korea
United States

As announced by the FIBA Executive Committee last Friday, the rights to host the FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments were awarded to the National Federations of Belgium (Ostend), China (Foshan), France (Bourges) and Serbia (Belgrade) in February 2020.

The official Draw Ceremony to sort the 16 teams into the four tournaments will take place at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball, FIBA headquarters, on November 27, 2019.

The top three teams from each of these tournaments, consisting of four teams each, will qualify for the Olympics.

FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018 champions USA and the hosts of the Olympic Games, Japan, will play in the qualification tournaments but will advance through to the Tokyo 2020 Women’s Olympic Basketball Tournament regardless of their results.