Baskonia has joined Olympiacos on the list of EuroLeague teams that will not participate in the upcoming FIBA World Cup qualifiers.

Latvia’s Janis Timma announced the news himself on Instagram that he won’t play for Latvia in the qualifiers. The same goes too for his teammates.

Translated into English:

We as EuroLeague players are in a situation in which we should never be. We have to choose between an employer which keeps our family and our country. This situation is not our responsibility but we have to make a decision about that. In the club we discussed this situation and considered the bad start of the season, the new head coach, we made a joint decision not to join our National Teams in the first stage of the Qualifiers”.

Marcelinho Huertas (Brazil), Jayson Granger (Uruguay), Johannes Voigtmann (Germany), Vincent Poirier (France), Ilimane Diop (Spain) and Tornike Shengelia (Georgia) won’t join their respective national sides.