Tenerife has been announced as the host city for the 2017 Basketball Champions League Final Four.

Four teams, representing four different countries, will be participating in the pinnacle event of Basketball Champions League’s inaugural season which will be played over the last weekend of April in the largest and most populated island of the seven Canary Islands.

AS Monaco, Banvit, Umana Reyer Venezia and the hosts Tenerife will compete in this season’s Final Four.

“We’re very excited to have Tenerife host the first ever Basketball Champions League Final Four,” said Patrick Comninos, CEO of the Basketball Champions League in a statement.

“We have witnessed the fervent enthusiasm of the club to organise this historical event and the passionate support of the local community. We are all thrilled to have the opportunity to award this Final Four to such an impressive environment, where the participation of four clubs that are currently ranked in top positions in four of the most competitive leagues guarantees a unique weekend for basketball fans across Europe.”

The Semi-Finals will be played on April 28, with the Third-Place Game and Final scheduled for April 30. The draw determining the pairings will be held next week, on Thursday 6 April in Tenerife.