Czech Republic Greece FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament
Photo: FIBA Basketball

The Czech RepublicGermanyItaly and Slovenia complete the Men’s Olympic Basketball field for Tokyo 2020 by winning their respective FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments. 

On June 29, the four Olympic Qualifying Tournament began in Belgrade, Kaunas, Split and Victoria and concluded with the Finals on July 4, with each of the four countries that emerged victorious from their respective six-team tourney earning their participation in the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. 

Twelve countries will compete in Tokyo for Olympic Gold in Men’s Basketball. The FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 produced seven directly qualified teams for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and Japan received automatic qualification as the hosts of the event.

The OQT winners join the eight previously qualified countries: ArgentinaAustraliaFranceIranJapanNigeriaSpainUSA.

Originally slated for the summer of 2020, the Tokyo Olympics will take place from July 23 to August 8. This will be Tokyo’s second time hosting the Olympics, having also hosted the 1964 Games.