WiZink Arena Madrid
Photo: El Español/Carlos Bernabé

Liga Endesa is planning to finish the season with a tournament of 12 teams in a single venue.

The league reached an agreement to finish the season in this way during an assembly that took place on Monday (20/4).

The top 12 teams in the standings (Barcelona, Real Madrid, Zaragoza, Tenerife, Bilbao, Andorra, Unicaja Malaga, Valencia, San Pablo Burgos, Baskonia, Gran Canaria and Obradoiro) will be divided into two groups of six. The top two teams in each group will advance in the semifinals and the winners will play in the final.

The final decision on whether the tournament will be held will be taken no later than May 31, depending on the health measures in the country. The season must finish on July 31st at the latest.

There will be a total number of 33 games played in two weeks. A preparation period of three weeks minimum is also set. Gran Canaria and Andorra are the candidates to host the tournament.