Sergio Scariolo picked 15 players for Spain national team. Even though reigning European champions were expected to bring their strongest roster, Fran Vazquez will not play in EuroBasket 2011.

Marca reports that Vazquez decided not join the national team this year due to his status as a free agent and knee problems.

It is also reported that following Jorge Garbajosa’s retirement from the national team Spanish Basketball Federation (FEB) will try convince Alex Mumbru to reconsider his decision to end international career.

The 32-year-old forward is currently a member of Bilbao Basket and has just recently finished the season after 0-3 loss in ACB finals against Barcelona.

Congolese power forward Serge Ibaka is also included in Scariolo’s list. Though it is yet not clear whether he will receive Spanish citizenship in time for EuroBasket.

Spain will play in Group A with Turkey, Lithuania, Great Britain, Poland and one of the following three teams – Portugal, Finland or Hungary.

The list of players invited to the Spanish national team:

Jose Manuel CalderonToronto Raptors, NBA
Ricky RubioBarcelona, Spain
Victor SadaBarcelona, Spain
Sergio LlullReal Madrid, Spain
Juan Carlos NavarroBarcelona, Spain
Rudy FernandezPortland Trail Blazers, NBA
Rafa MartinezPower Electronics Valencia, Spain
Carlos SuarezReal Madrid, Spain
Fernando San EmeterioCaja Laboral, Spain
Alex MumbruBilbao Basket, Spain
Victor ClaverPower Electronics Valencia, Spain
Felipe ReyesReal Madrid, Spain
Serge IbakaOklahoma City Thunder, NBA
Marc GasolMemphis Grizzlies, NBA
Pau GasolLos Angeles Lakers, NBA