The 2019/20 EuroCup schedule was officially announced on Tuesday (16/07), with the competition beginning in the first days of October.

For the first time in the history of the competition, both the champion and the runner-up team will gain spots to the 2020/21 EuroLeague.

According to EuroCup Basketball:

“The opening round of a historic 7DAYS EuroCup season will begin in the first week of October with great expectations and unprecedented opportunity for all 24 teams, former champions and newcomers alike.

For the first time in the competition’s history, two teams – the eventual champion and the other finalist – will qualify to play in the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague in the 2020-21 season.

A loaded field of historic teams features seven former EuroCup champions, and two of them – Rytas Vilnius and Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar – will square off in Round 1.

All three former champions in Group C – UNICS Kazan, Darussafaka Tekfen Istanbul and Joventut Badalona – open their campaigns on the road, as does Galatasaray Doga Sigorta Istanbul in Group D.

In the same group, Unicaja Malaga, the 2016 EuroCup champion, opens its journey at home against Buducnost VOLI Podgorica.

Group A, the only one of the four groups without a former champion, will see AS Monaco welcome the last year’s semifinalist MoraBanc Andorra.

In the same group, the competition’s only two newcomers, Maccabi Rishon LeZion and Promitheas Patras, face each other, guaranteeing that one of them will debut with a victory, making history to start the season in Round 1!”

You can view the full calendar here: