Six top clubs from Greece and Italy have renewed their commitment to Basketball Champions League by signing for the upcoming 2017/18 season.

Umana Reyer Venezia (2nd of the Regular Season), Sidigas Avellino (3rd) and Dinamo Sassari (5th) in Italy’s Serie A and AEK (3rd), Aris (4th) and PAOK (5th) in the Greek League during the Regular Season will be among the 24 teams to receive direct access to the Basketball Champions’ League Group Stage.

In Italy, Venezia and Avellino are at present in the Lega Basket Serie A Semi-finals and one of them will be fighting for the Italian League title.

In Greece, AEK and Aris are competing in the Playoff series for 3rd place overall for the current season.

Basketball Champions League CEO, Patrick Comninos said: “We are delighted to welcome back top teams representing two of the most competitive leagues in Europe who have once again qualified on the basis of their impressive performance on the court throughout the season.

“This decision reaffirms that this competition is offering clubs the ideal environment for competing at the highest level. All six clubs were also part of the inaugural Basketball Champions League season and reached the Play-Offs, contributing to the success of the competition. Their return confirms that clubs have been very happy with their experience in the Basketball Champions League during this first season.”

The second season of the Basketball Champions League will tip-off on Saturday 19 September with the first round of Qualifications, and on Tuesday 10 October with the start of the Regular Season. The full calendar of the season is available in the 2017/2018 Regulations.