Euroleague and Eurocup teams announced for next season

A total of 40 clubs from 13 countries were proposed by the Euroleague Commercial Assets A-Licence Shareholder Clubs on Monday to compete in the two most elite competitions in European club basketball, the Turkish Airlines Euroleague and the Eurocup, for the upcoming 2016-17 season.

The Euroleague will feature 16 teams from nine countries, including the champions of eight domestic leagues. The list is headed by current champion CSKA Moscow and includes seven more clubs that have won the title: FC Barcelona Lassa, Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv, Olympiacos Piraeus, Panathinaikos Athens, Real Madrid, EA7 Emporio Armani Milan and Zalgiris Kaunas.

The 16 Euroleague clubs will be the standard-bearers of a historic transition to a new competition format that features all teams playing each other twice in a round-robin format, a first in international club competitions in Europe. Eight survivors after 30 regular season games will advance to the best-of-five playoffs, whose four winners will qualify for the Final Four to decide the continental champion.

Here are the 2016-17 Turkish Airlines Euroleague clubs (WC denotes wild card):

Anadolu Efes Istanbul
Brose Bamberg
Crvena Zvezda Telekom Belgrade
CSKA Moscow
Darussafaka Dogus Istanbul (WC)
EA7 Emporio Armani Milan
FC Barcelona Lassa
Fenerbahce Istanbul
Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul *
Laboral Kutxa Vitoria Gasteiz
Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv
Olympiacos Piraeus
Panathinaikos Athens
Real Madrid
Unics Kazan
Zalgiris Kaunas

*Galatasaray’s participation is dependent upon completion of the necessary registration requirements and documentation review by the Management Control Commission.

The full 2016-17 Turkish Airlines Euroleague Regular Season calendar will be made public at the beginning of July 2016.

Also on Monday, a list of 24 teams to play in the 2016-17 Eurocup Regular Season was approved. The team list features teams from a total of 12 countries as the Eurocup retains the wide reach that has made it such a popular competition throughout the continent.
The field will feature five former Eurocup champions: Valencia Basket (2003, 2010 and 2014), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (2004), Lietuvos Rytas Vilnius (2005, 2009, Khimki Moscow Region (2012, 2015) and Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar (2013) and a total of 17 former Euroleague participants.

The teams will be divided into four groups of six teams each playing 10 round-robin games starting October. The best four teams in each regular season group will advance to the Top 16, which will consist of four groups of four teams, which will play six round-robin games beginning in early January 2017. From there, the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals – each consisting of best of three playoff series– will be played in order to decide the 2017 Eurocup Champion, who in turn will qualify for the 2017-18 Turkish Airlines Euroleague.
Here are the 2016-17 Eurocup clubs (WC denotes wild card):
AEK Athens
ALBA Berlin
Buducnost VOLI Podgorica
Cedevita Zagreb
Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari
Dolomiti Energia Trento
Dominion Bilbao Basket (WC)
FC Bayern Munich
FoxTown Cantu (WC)
Grissin Bon Reggio Emilia
Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem
Herbalife Gran Canaria Las Palmas
Khimki Moscow Region
Lietuvos Rytas Vilnius
Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar
Nizhny Novgorod (WC)
Partizan NIS Belgrade
ratiopharm Ulm
Stelmet Zielona Gora
UCAM Murcia
Unicaja Malaga
Union Olimpija Ljubljana (WC)
Valencia Basket
Zenit St Petersburg

The group also reviewed other topics including ECA’s governance structure, the 2016-17 Bylaws, economic distribution criteria, as well as ticketing incentives for the competition.

The 2016-17 Eurocup Draw will take place on Thursday, July 7 in Barcelona, Spain.

Follow us | Contact

If you’re not interested anymore » unsubscribe