Two-time Olympic Gold medal winner Michael Jordan will lead the FIBA Hall of Fame class of 2015 on September 19 in Lille, the night before the Eurobasket final.

But Jordan, widely regarded as the greatest basketball player ever will not attend the ceremony in France due to “previous commitments”.

“[Michael Jordan] has informed FIBA that he deeply regrets not being able to attend the ceremony and having to miss out on the opportunity to join his fellow inductees because of previous commitments,” the press release stated.

As well as being a two-time Olympic champion, Jordan also captured a Gold medal at the 1992 FIBA Americas tournament in Portland, Oregon, as well as being a six-time NBA winner and six-time NBA Finals MVP.

Technical official Robert Blanchard of France, contributor Noah Klieger of Israel, Connecticut Sun coach Anne Donovan, Retired Cuban player Ruperto Herrera Tabio, Lithuanian Sarunas Marciulionis, Sydney Olympic Silver medallist, Antoine Rigaudeau, Australian coach Jan Stirling and Ukrainian Vladimir Tkachenko will all be inducted in Lille and have confirmed their attendance.