Eurobasket 2011 champions Spain have been placed in the group of death as the 2015 draw took place today at Disneyland, Paris.

Spain will travel to Berlin alongside Germany, Italy, Serbia, Turkey and debutants Iceland in Group B.

Holders France, who will host one of the group stages and the final round are in Group A with Israel, Russia, Poland, Bosnia & Herzegovina and Finland. The games there will be played in Montpellier.

Bitter rivals Slovenia and Croatia will face each other in the final game of the first day in Zagreb as Group C also contains Georgia, Netherlands, FYR of Macedonia and Greece.

Group D will take place in Riga, where hosts Latvia will be up against neighbours Lithuania, rookies Estonia, Belgium, Czech Republic and Ukraine, who were lined up to host next year’s summer event but had to withdraw due to political unrest.

FIBA Europe Secretary General Kamil Novak is confident in having four separate host countries and believes that next summer’s tournament will work out.

“I am confident that in Croatia, France, Germany and Latvia, we have four very able host nations that will provide a spectacle which will have the eyes of the basketball world solely focused on Europe.”

Eurobasket starts on September 5 and runs to September 20. The second round to the final will be staged in Lille, France.