Photo: EuroCup

The 2014-15 Eurocup will maintain its standing as the most inclusive and broad-based club competition in Europe with one change to the qualification of clubs for next season, as well as the consolidation of the changes made prior to the 2013-14 edition. The basic change from last season’s Eurocup will be the reduction in the number of participating teams from 48 to 36. Participation will be offered to teams in 19 or more countries.

The 2014-15 Eurocup Regular Season will feature six groups of six teams each playing 10 round-robin games, with teams divided into two regional conferences in order to reduce travel times and costs for participants. The best four teams in each regular season group will again be joined in the Eurocup Last 32 by the eight teams that did not qualify for the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Top 16. They will be divided into eight groups of four, again playing in a round-robin format that gives each team six more games. As such, two-thirds of the Eurocup teams starting the season will play at least 16 games. From there, the Eighthfinals, Quarterfinals, Semifinals and Finals – consisting of two-game, home-and-away elimination series between pairs of teams – will be played in order to decide the 2014-15 Eurocup Champion, who in turn will qualify for the 2015-16 Turkish Airlines Euroleague.

The Eurocup format change was approved by the Euroleague Commercial Assets Executive Board on March 31, and will be presented for ratification by the ECA Shareholders on July 9.