With the Tokyo Olympics rescheduled for 2021, the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments will now be played from June 29 to July 4, 2021.

FIBA has been involved in a consultation process with the IOC regarding these four tournaments, in which the players’ workload, the national team preparations and the national league calendars were all considered, according to a press release.

The IOC approved the new dates as a result of the current extraordinary circumstances.

The four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments will be held in Canada (Victoria), Croatia (Split), Lithuania (Kaunas) and Serbia (Belgrade).

There will be 24 teams that compete in the four qualifying tournaments.

The four tournaments will each have six teams.

The winners of each tournament will qualify for the Tokyo Olympics, now taking place from July 23 to August 8, 2021.

The United States, Spain, France, Australia, Nigeria, Argentina, Iran and Japan have already qualified.