Home EuroLeague Moscow will host Euroleague Qualifying Round

Moscow will host Euroleague Qualifying Round

Eight teams will battle in September for a single ticket in the next year’s Euroleague in Russian capital. Although participating teams have not been officially announced yet, it is reported that UNICS Kazan will receive the wild card.

Russian side made a strong debut in Euroleague last season. The 2011 Eurocup champions marched all the way to the quarter-finals before being knocked out by Barcelona.

Belgian champions Telenet Oostende will also take part in the tournament. One of the two Euroleague Qualifying Rounds was held in Charleroi, Belgium, last season and it saw the home side Spirou cause an upset by earning a spot in Euroleague. Oostende will aim to repeat the success of their counterparts, this time on foreign soil.

Moscow will be hosting an international club tournament for the second year in a row. Last year Khimki, Moscow Region, hosted Eurocup Final Four with the hosts lifting the cup after downing Valencia.

As it was reported earlier, Euroleague reduced the number of teams in qualifying rounds from 16 to 8. Accordingly, there will be a single qualifying rounds instead of two.

Show comments