Dirk Nowitzki is the European Player of the Year 2011, FIBA Europe have announced.

Dallas Mavericks and Germany forward, Nowitzki came in 4th in the fans voting, but was aided by the experts voting to surpass Eurobasket 2011 MVP, Juan Carlos Navarro.

This is the second time that the German forward wins the award after having won it in 2005. Earlier this season Nowitzki was also voted German Athlete of the Year.

Montepaschi Siena and FYR of Macedonia guard Bo McCalebb finished third.