2020 FIBA Intercontinental Cup
Photo: FIBA.Basketball

The field for the FIBA Intercontinental Cup 2020 was confirmed with Tenerife, Spain announced as the destination for the upcoming edition of the event, set to take place from February 7-9, 2020.

The reigning G League champions Rio Grande Valley Vipers (USA), Basketball Champions League champions Virtus Bologna (ITA) and back-to-back DIRECTV winners San Lorenzo de Almagro (ARG) will all represent their respective regions in the largest of the eight Canary Islands.

They will be joined by the tournament hosts Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), who finished runners-up in the Basketball Champions League last season and captured FIBA Intercontinental Cup laurels in 2017.

The competition will take place at the Pabellón Insular Santiago Martín, the venue that hosted the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018 Final as well as the first Final Four of the Basketball Champions League in 2017.

The Final Four format, adopted in the last edition, will remain unchanged in Tenerife, with the two Semi-Finals played on Friday, February 7 and the Third-Place Game and the Final taking place on Sunday, February 9. 

The Semi-Finals pairings and tip-off times will follow.