Referees missed potentially crucial goaltending in France vs. Lithuania?

France prevailed over Lithuania 78-75 in a tight game in the second round of the FIBA World Cup. But, could the game have ended differently if the referees called a goaltending on Rudy Gobert?

With 30 seconds left to play in the fourth quarter, Jonas Valanciunas was sent to the free-throw line to take two free throws. Lithuania was down by two, 76-74. JV made the first one, but missed the second (76-75).

Rudy Gobert jumped and tried to push the ball while it was above the rim, but hit the rim first. Which is a goaltending. However, the referees missed it.

In the next possession, Nando De Colo nailed a jumper to seal the deal for France. The Greens tried to take a three to tie the game, but the shot was missed.

The French secured a spot in the quarter-finals and will face Australia on Monday to decide the group winner.

Meanwhile, the Lithuanians were eliminated from the competition. They will take on the Dominican Republic, which was narrowly beaten by the Aussies, to end the second round.