Dimitris Itoudis EuroLeague Coach of the Year
Photo: EuroLeague Basketball

For the second time in his five seasons on CSKA Moscow’s bench, Dimitris Itoudis has won the Alexander Gomelskiy Coach of the Year award.

With a boundless belief in his players and their mission, Itoudis guided CSKA to victory at the 2019 EuroLeague Final Four, claiming the club’s second continental title since he took over the bench in 2014. 

The Alexander Gomelskiy EuroLeague Coach of the Year award is voted on by the 16 head coaches of the EuroLeague teams, with the stipulation that no coach vote for himself.

Itoudis edged Ergin Ataman of Anadolu Efes, who finished second in the voting. Sarunas Jasikevicius of Zalgirs Kaunas placed third.

Itoudis joins Zeljko Obradovic, his one-time mentor, Pablo Laso and Ettore Messina as the only men to be chosen as the Coach of the Year two or more times.

With both of theirs from their time in Moscow, Itoudis and Messina give CSKA four such trophies, which are named after the club’s late, legendary coach and honorary president. No other club has more than two Coach of the Year awards.