One of the most celebrated Spanish players Jorge Garbajosa has been revealed as the new president of the FEB (Spanish Basketball Federation).

Garbajosa won the first round of the votes with 53 votes, while Arturo Aguado and Alfonso Cabeza received 51 and 10 votes respectively.

In the second round, Garbajosa received 61 votes against Aguado’s 54.

He will succeed Jose Luis Saez who previously held the position since 2004. Garbajosa will stay in office for four years.

Among the 38-year old Garbajosa’s accomplishments was a world champion in 2006 and three years later he won the golden medal in Eurobasket 2009.

He was a silver medalist in the 2008 Olympic Games and also at Eurobasket in 2003 and 2007.

Also, he has won the bronze medal in the Eurobasket of 2001.