MUNICH, Germany (Basketball Champions League) – The Basketball Champions League’s Board of Directors held its fourth meeting on Tuesday evening in Munich and made a number of key decisions as well as sharing important information.

The Board was informed that, to date, 66 clubs from 19 countries across Europe had pre-registered to be part of the innovative 50-50 joint partnership between FIBA and 10 top European leagues. This will include a minimum of 13 national champions.

The 19 countries with pre-registered clubs so far are: Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine.

The inaugural season of the Basketball Champions League – a truly pan-European competition, based on the fair sporting principle of teams qualifying through their national leagues – will tip off its inaugural season in September 2016.

The Board also received a report from the Nominations Committee regarding the appointment of the CEO, who will be announced shortly.

Source: Basketball Champions League