Spain reveal EuroBasket squad minus usual NBA suspects

Embed from Getty Images

The Spanish Basketball Federation [FEB] have released their final 12-man roster for Eurobasket 2015 with Pau Gasol included but many other familiar names missing.

Minnesota Timberwolves guard Ricky Rubio, Memphis big man Marc Gasol and New York Knicks’ Jose Calderon have opted to rest this summer following injury lay-offs as has Barcelona’s Juan Carlos Navarro.

But the inclusion of Pau Gasol along with Real Madrid’s fantastic four of Rudy Fernandez, Sergio Rodriguez, Sergio Llull and Liga Endesa MVP Felipe Reyes will give the Spanish fans hope as they look to see their heroes reclaim the European crown that they won previously in 2009 and 2011.

Also included in the roster is naturalised player Nikola Mirotic, who is preferred to Serge Ibaka.

Spain will play in Group B in Berlin and will face Serbia, Iceland, Italy, Turkey and co-hosts Germany.

Spain roster:

Sergio Llull
Sergio Rodriguez
Guillem Vives
Pau Ribas
Rudy Fernandez
Fernando San Emeterio
Victor Claver
Felipe Reyes
Nikola Mirotic
Pablo Aguilar
Pau Gasol
Willy Hernangomez.