Nizhny Novgorod Basketball Champions League Final-8
Photo: FIBA Basketball

The city of Nizhny Novgorod, Russia, has been awarded the hosting of the 2021 Basketball Champions League Final 8. The season-ending tournament that will conclude the 2020-21 season will be organized from May 5-9, 2021.

Eight teams, representing six different countries, will participate in the pinnacle event of Basketball Champions League’s fifth season which will be played in a single-game knock-out format over the first week of May in Nizhny Novgorod, the 6th largest city in Russia.

The games are set to take place in the Culture and Entertainment Complex Nagorny arena, regular home court of the Nizhny Novgorod club.

The qualified teams are the following (in alphabetical order): Casademont Zaragoza (ESP), ERA Nymburk (CZE), Hapoel Unet-Credit Holon (ISR), Hereda San Pablo Burgos (ESP), Lenovo Tenerife (ESP), Nizhny Novgorod (RUS), Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR), SIG Strasbourg (FRA).

The event will be organized in accordance with the FIBA Return to Play Protocol and the relevant regulations applicable by the Russian authorities.

The Quarter-Finals will be played on May 5-6, and will see the first-placed teams (from the Play-Offs) face the second-placed teams. The Semi-Finals will be played on May 7, with the Third-Place Game and Final scheduled for May 9. 

The draw that will determine the pairings will be held on Friday April 16, at 14:00 CET.