Photo: Gary Dineen/NBAE/Getty Images

The Phoenix Mercury clinched the WNBA title for the 2013/2014 season. The favorites swept the Final series against Chicago Sky 3-0 after an 87-82 win on September 12th.

Both teams scored 22 points in the first period, while Phoenix Mercury grabbed 2-point lead at the half-time after a 23-21 rally in the second period.

Chicago stayed tough as Courtney Vandersloot cut Phoenix’s lead to 77-74. Penny Taylor made both free throws with 9.3 seconds left for the final score.

Candice Dupree and Diana Taurasi top-scored for the winners with 24 points each, while DeWanna Bonner had 12 points and Penny Taylor added 11 for the Mercury.

Elena Delle Donne scored 23 points, Sylvia Fowles had 20 points and Allie Quigley had 19 for the Sky.