A day of gossip coming up.

Raiders add Aussie guard

British Basketball League side, Plymouth Raiders have signed 5’10” Australian guard Josh Wilcher from the Reading Rockets.

Wilcher was named England Basketball’s MVP this season just gone. EBL Division 1 is the country’s second tier basketball league.

Raposo wants to play for Germany

Frenchman Fernando Raposo has decided that he wants to play for the German national team after turning down the chance to play for the French A team.

“I am honoured to get a call from France national team. But I am getting my German passport and I would love to play for German national team” said Raposo to La Republique du Centre.

Raposo is averaging 5 points with Pro A side Orleans.

Euroleague Final Four referees announced along with first and second teams

The Euroleague have named their Final Four referees and have announced their first and second teams for the season.

Infamous referee Luigi Lamonica will not be refereeing the event.


Ilija Belosevic from Serbia, Christos Christodoulou from Greece, Milivoje Jovcic from Serbia, Robert Lottermoser from Germany, Rustu Nuran from Turkey, Sasa Pukl from Slovenia, Fernando Rocha from Portugal and Borys Ryzhyk from Ukraine.

“Just before the basketball world turns its attention to Milan for the 2014 Turkish Airlines Euroleague Final Four, Euroleague Basketball is pleased to honor 10 of the stars that made this season so spectacular, the 2013-14 All-Euroleague First and Second Teams. To select them, tens of thousands of fans from around the globe were able to cast votes for their favorite players, as did media members from each of the countries with Euroleague teams. The All-Euroleague selections feature players from seven teams and five players who appear among the competition’s best for the first time. The All-Euroleague First Team features five superstars from four different teams: Sergio Rodriguez and Rudy Fernandez from Real Madrid, Keith Langford from EA7 Emporio Armani Milan, Sonny Weems from CSKA Moscow and Ante Tomic from FC Barcelona. Both Fernandez and Tomic return after appearing on the 2012-13 All-Euroleague First Team. The All-Euroleague Second Team consists of Ricky Hickman from Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv, Vasilis Spanoulis of Olympiacos Piraeus, Victor Khryapa of CSKA Moscow, Nikola Mirotic of Real Madrid and Stephane Lasme of Panathinaikos Athens. This marks Spanoulis’s fifth straight All-Euroleague selection and seventh overall, which ties him with FC Barcelona great Juan Carlos Navarro for the most in competition history. Khryapa is selected to an All-Euroleague Team for the third time and Mirotic for the second time.”

Via Euroleague.net: