The draw for this year’s FIBA world championship for women was made at the Ciragan Palace as Turkey prepares for another flagship tournament since the 2010 world championship and the 2012 Euroleague Final Four

Reigning champions the United States have been handed a relatively easy group as they are joined in Group D by Serbia, China and outsiders Angola. The USA are hot favourites to retain their crown that they won in the Czech Republic in 2010.

On the contrary, hosts Turkey have a tricky group and if they want to progress further in the tournament, have to get by Olympic and Eurobasket Women silver-medallists France, a solid Canada team and Mozambique.

Eurobasket Women winners Spain will face world championship runners-up from 2010 Czech Republic in Group A but will fancy their chances to progress from the group that also includes Brazil and Japan.

The Ankara Arena in Turkey’s capital Ankara and the Abdi Ipecki Arena in Istnabul will host the group stages clashes and quarter-final games. The semi-finals and the final will be played on the Asian side of Istanbul at the Fenerbahce Ulker Sports Arena.

In attendance for the draw were the Chairman and CEO of The Coca-Cola Company, Muhtar Kent; the Turkish Director General of Sports, Mehmet Baykan; the President of the Turkish Basketball Federation, Turgay Demirel; the President of FIBA, Yvan Mainini; the Secretary General Emeritus of FIBA, Borislav Stankovic and the Secretary General of FIBA, Patrick Baumann.

The tournament will run from September 27 to October 5.

Group A (Ankara) Brazil; Japan; Spain; Czech Republic.

Group B (Ankara) Mozambique; Turkey; France; Canada.

Group C (Istanbul) Korea; Cuba; Australia; Belarus.

Group D (Istanbul) Serbia; China; USA; Angola.