Photo: Basketball Forever

All eight participants for the H-O-R-S-E competition set to begin April 12 were announced, featuring NBA and WNBA stars.

The first participants announced were Chris Paul, Trae Young and Zach LaVine.

The rest of the field is made up of Utah Jazz guard Mike Conley, former NBA players Chauncey Billups and Paul Pierce, former WNBA player and newly elected Hall-of-Famer Tamika Catchings and current WNBA player Allie Quigley.

The eight players were broken into two groups:

Group 1Group 2
Chauncey BillupsZach LaVine
Tamika CatchingsChris Paul
Mike ConleyPaul Pierce
Trae YoungAllie Quigley

The four quarterfinal matchups will air on ESPN on April 12.

ESPN NBA H-O-R-S-E Challenge Presented by State Farm matchups:

  • Quarterfinals Group 1: Trae Young vs. Chauncey Billups
  • Quarterfinals Group 1: Tamika Catchings vs. Mike Conley Jr.
  • Quarterfinals Group 2: Zach LaVine vs. Paul Pierce
  • Quarterfinals Group 2: Chris Paul vs. Allie Quigley

The winners of the first two games in each group will meet in the semifinals, then the winner from each group will move to the championship round.

The semifinals and championship will then take place on April 16.

A coin toss at the start of each game will determine who shoots first, with the more senior player calling heads or tails.

Players must describe each shot attempt, specifying the type of score they intend to make before taking a shot, such as a bank shot or swish.

Dunking is prohibited. The first player in each game to accumulate the letters “H-O-R-S-E” after failing to match five shots is eliminated.

ESPN NBA commentator Mark Jones will serve as the host of the event.

The event will raise more than $200,000 in support of coronavirus relief efforts.