The following criteria for the allocation of licences to participating teams for the 2012-13 Turkish Airlines Euroleague season were approved at the Euroleague Commercial Assets shareholders’ meeting held on October 14, 2011.


Anadolu Efes IstanbulTurkey
Asseco Prokom GdyniaPoland
Caja LaboralSpain
CSKA MoscowRussia
FC Barcelona RegalSpain
Fenerbahce Ulker IstanbulTurkey
Lottomatica Roma*Italy
Maccabi Electra Tel AvivIsrael
Montepaschi SienaItaly
Olympiacos PiraeusGreece
Panathinaikos AthensGreece
Real MadridSpain
Zalgiris KaunasLithuania
  • The A Licence club with the lower ranking, calculated by the performance of teams in European competitions during a three-year period, may lose its licence.
  • *The A Licence team with the lowest ranking at the end of the 2011-12 season is Lottomatica Roma.
  • The ECA Shareholders Executive Board may propose the following to the General Assembly for the substitution of the A Licence team:
    1. Substitution by highest-ranked club without an A Licence. In all cases, the new club must fulfil all other requirements for obtaining an A Licence as established in the licensing rules;
    2. or

    3. Substitution of the place by a B Licence, whether temporarily or definitively;
    4. or

    5. Substitution of the place by a wild card, which will be granted to the club that the General Assembly considers appropriate at its own discretion and for the period that it deems necessary.


2RussiaChampion (CSKA Moscow)
3GreeceChampion (Olympiacos Piraeus or Panathinaikos Athens)
5TurkeyChampion (Anadolu Efes Istanbul or Besiktas JK Milangaz)
7GermanyChampion (Brose Baskets or Ratiopharm Ulm)
8LithuaniaChampion (Zalgiris Kaunas)
9Adriatic League*1st Serbia (Partizan m:ts Belgrade)
10Adriatic League*1st Croatia (Cedevita Zagreb)
11Adriatic League*1st Slovenia (Union Olimpija Ljubljana)
13RussiaRunner-up (BC Khimki Moscow Region)
14GreeceRunner-up (Olympiacos Piraeus or Panathinaikos Athens)
16LithuaniaRunner-up (Lietuvos Rytas)
17TurkeyRunner-up (Anadolu Efes Istanbul or Besiktas JK Milangaz)
19GermanyRunner-up (Brose Baskets or Ratiopharm Ulm)
20Adriatic LeagueNext best team without B licence (Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv)
21BelgiumChampion (Telenet BC Oostende or Belgacom Spirou Charleroi)
22Chech RepublicChampion (CEZ Basketball Nymburk)
23UkraineChampion (BC Donetsk)
24IsraelChampion (Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv)
25PolandChampion (Asseco Prokom Gdynia or Trefl Sopot)
26BulgariaChampion (PBC Lukoil Academic)
27NetherlandsChampion (Eiffeltowers Den Bosch)
28LatviaChampion (VEF Riga)

* The Adriatic League teams (1 from Serbia, 1 from Slovenia and 1 from Croatia) are the ones with the best Adriatic League + National League + European competitions ranking.

  • All B Licences will be allocated according to the Euroleague Country Ranking.
  • When a country ranking spot has already been assigned to an A Licence team, the assignation will jump to the next country appearing in the ranking, until all spots are covered.
  • One B License is reserved for the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Round champion.
  • Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Round spots will also follow the country ranking.
  • As stated in the Euroleague Basketball Bylaws, Euroleague Basketball reserves the right to allocate wildcards in the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Round.


BC Khimki Moscow RegionEurocup Champion
  • The C Licence corresponds to the Eurocup champion, BC Khimki Moscow Region.
  • In the case that the Eurocup champion also earns the right to participate in the Turkish Airlines Euroleague through the country ranking regarding its national league final standing (B Licence), the C Licence will automatically become a wildcard.

*All wildcards will be proposed by the Board and confirmed by the General Assembly.