Real Madrid reportedly considering leaving the ACB

Twitter/Real Madrid
Photo: Twitter/Real Madrid

Per the “El Partidazo” show of the Spanish radio Cope, Real Madrid is thinking of leaving the ACB unless the league officially acknowledges the mistake the referees made in the final play of the Copa Del Rey Final against Barcelona (93-94).

With Barcelona down 92 – 93 in overtime, the referees counted a basket by Barcelona center Ante Tomic, after calling Real Madrid big Anthony Randolph with a goaltending violation.

The referees decided it was a goaltending violation, after watching the instant replay. This basket gave Barcelona the win and the second straight Spanish cup title in a row.

Real Madrid wants the league to officially acknowledge the mistake, otherwise, and per the report, the club will consider leaving the ACB.