Madrid will announce EuroBasket 2015 hosts on September 8. Croatia, France, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Poland, Israel and Turkey are on the list of possible host countries.

The Board of FIBA Europe decided to relocate 2015 EuroBasket from Ukraine. The decision has been officially announced earlier. The situation in Ukraine has not changed drastically in the last months so the decision seemed inevitable.

In 2013 France became the new EuroBasket champions! They overcame Lithuania 80-66 in the title game in Ljubljana. It marked the first ever success for France at the European Championships. Nicolas Batum stepped up with 17 points and 6 rebounds to pace Les Bleus at that time.