Home EuroLeague CSKA Moscow’s Nando De Colo wins Alphonso Ford trophy

CSKA Moscow’s Nando De Colo wins Alphonso Ford trophy

Euroleague Basketball
Photo: Euroleague Basketball

After averaging the most points this decade by any player qualified to win the scoring title, Nando De Colo of CSKA Moscow has earned the Alphonso Ford Top Scorer Trophy for the 2015-16 Turkish Airlines Euroleague.

The Ford Trophy is awarded annually to the Euroleague player with the most points averaged over a minimum number of games. It is the Euroleague’s only end-of-season award that does not rely on voting by fans, media or coaches, but is based solely on statistics.

De Colo averaged 18.92 points over 25 games this season to win the award by a healthy margin. De Colo scored in double digits in all but one of those 25 contests. He also reached the 20-point mark nine times and was one of only three players to score 30 or more points in a game this season, too.

De Colo’s scoring average is the third highest since the award was introduced in 2004 and the highest for a Ford Trophy winner since Marc Salyers recorded 21.8 points per game in 14 appearances for Chorale Roanne of France in the 2007-08 campaign. De Colo becomes only the third player in the award’s history to also lead his team to the Euroleague Final Four that same season.


Show comments