Home EuroLeague 2012-13 Turkish Airlines Euroleague license allocation criteria

2012-13 Turkish Airlines Euroleague license allocation criteria

The following criteria for the allocation of licences to participating teams for the 2012-13 Turkish Airlines Euroleague season were approved at the Euroleague Commercial Assets shareholders’ meeting held on October 14, 2011.


Anadolu Efes Istanbul Turkey
Asseco Prokom Gdynia Poland
Caja Laboral Spain
CSKA Moscow Russia
FC Barcelona Regal Spain
Fenerbahce Ulker Istanbul Turkey
Lottomatica Roma* Italy
Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv Israel
Montepaschi Siena Italy
Olympiacos Piraeus Greece
Panathinaikos Athens Greece
Real Madrid Spain
Unicaja Spain
Zalgiris Kaunas Lithuania
  • The A Licence club with the lower ranking, calculated by the performance of teams in European competitions during a three-year period, may lose its licence.
  • *The A Licence team with the lowest ranking at the end of the 2011-12 season is Lottomatica Roma.
  • The ECA Shareholders Executive Board may propose the following to the General Assembly for the substitution of the A Licence team:
    1. Substitution by highest-ranked club without an A Licence. In all cases, the new club must fulfil all other requirements for obtaining an A Licence as established in the licensing rules;
    2. or

    3. Substitution of the place by a B Licence, whether temporarily or definitively;
    4. or

    5. Substitution of the place by a wild card, which will be granted to the club that the General Assembly considers appropriate at its own discretion and for the period that it deems necessary.


1 Spain Champion
2 Russia Champion (CSKA Moscow)
3 Greece Champion (Olympiacos Piraeus or Panathinaikos Athens)
4 Italy Champion
5 Turkey Champion (Anadolu Efes Istanbul or Besiktas JK Milangaz)
6 France Champion
7 Germany Champion (Brose Baskets or Ratiopharm Ulm)
8 Lithuania Champion (Zalgiris Kaunas)
9 Adriatic League* 1st Serbia (Partizan m:ts Belgrade)
10 Adriatic League* 1st Croatia (Cedevita Zagreb)
11 Adriatic League* 1st Slovenia (Union Olimpija Ljubljana)
12 Spain Runner-up
13 Russia Runner-up (BC Khimki Moscow Region)
14 Greece Runner-up (Olympiacos Piraeus or Panathinaikos Athens)
15 Italy Runner-up
16 Lithuania Runner-up (Lietuvos Rytas)
17 Turkey Runner-up (Anadolu Efes Istanbul or Besiktas JK Milangaz)
18 France Runner-up
19 Germany Runner-up (Brose Baskets or Ratiopharm Ulm)
20 Adriatic League Next best team without B licence (Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv)
21 Belgium Champion (Telenet BC Oostende or Belgacom Spirou Charleroi)
22 Chech Republic Champion (CEZ Basketball Nymburk)
23 Ukraine Champion (BC Donetsk)
24 Israel Champion (Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv)
25 Poland Champion (Asseco Prokom Gdynia or Trefl Sopot)
26 Bulgaria Champion (PBC Lukoil Academic)
27 Netherlands Champion (Eiffeltowers Den Bosch)
28 Latvia Champion (VEF Riga)

* The Adriatic League teams (1 from Serbia, 1 from Slovenia and 1 from Croatia) are the ones with the best Adriatic League + National League + European competitions ranking.

  • All B Licences will be allocated according to the Euroleague Country Ranking.
  • When a country ranking spot has already been assigned to an A Licence team, the assignation will jump to the next country appearing in the ranking, until all spots are covered.
  • One B License is reserved for the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Round champion.
  • Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Round spots will also follow the country ranking.
  • As stated in the Euroleague Basketball Bylaws, Euroleague Basketball reserves the right to allocate wildcards in the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Qualifying Round.


BC Khimki Moscow Region Eurocup Champion
  • The C Licence corresponds to the Eurocup champion, BC Khimki Moscow Region.
  • In the case that the Eurocup champion also earns the right to participate in the Turkish Airlines Euroleague through the country ranking regarding its national league final standing (B Licence), the C Licence will automatically become a wildcard.

*All wildcards will be proposed by the Board and confirmed by the General Assembly.

Source: Euroleague.net

Show comments