Home Domestic Leagues Flournoy wins BBL Coach of the Year

Flournoy wins BBL Coach of the Year

Fab Flournoy has added to his already bulging and illustrious resume by scooping the prestigious Molten BBL Coach of the Year award for a fifth time in his glittering career.

Drawing level with BBL coaching legend Kevin Cadle as the only other five-time winner, the Esh Group Eagles Newcastle play-caller adds the accolade to a fruitful year which has already witnessed him deliver a sixth BBL Championship title success.

Voted for by the Basketball Journalists Association, it’s the third time in five seasons that Flournoy has claimed the annual prize, which is awarded by the media who cover the domestic game.

“To have tied with a coaching legend like Kevin Cadle and to do so with all the extra pressure and responsibilities of being a player-coach is astonishing and really special,” stated Eagles’ Managing Director, Paul Blake.

“To also do it with the same club speaks volumes about Fab and arguably this season, he deserves it more than any other.

“That’s because we weren’t big favourites as in some other years and his leadership qualities really came to the fore with a barrel load of close wins which eventually got us over the finishing line.”

Meanwhile BJA Secretary, Mark Woods added, “Fab’s consistency over the years has been his hallmark and his award again reflects Newcastle’s position as the best team over the season.

“He has also always been great with the media and we congratulate him on yet another honour.”

Leading his team to a 28-5 record in the league, the most successful player-coach in British sport also guided his side to the BBL Cup Final and became the All-time leader for BBL Championship appearances.

Flournoy fought off nearest challenger Paul James, with the veteran Worcester coach having led Wolves to their first ever piece of silverware when his side clinched the BBL Trophy at the Emirates Arena.

It was also a historical season for Durham Wildcats after they amassed the most BBL Championship wins in their history, as well as competing in the BBL Play-offs for the first time.

Both accomplishments were masterminded by rookie head coach Lee Davie, who took the last podium spot in the BJA’s ballot.

The remainder of the BJA’s annual awards will be announced next week.

TalkBasket’s John Hobbs was amongst the BJA members that voted in the Coach of the Year category.

Exit mobile version