Home National Teams London 2012 Great Britain announce strongest ever roster

Great Britain announce strongest ever roster

Great Britain have today announced a 21-man strong roster as coach Chris Finch prepares for this summer’s Olympic Games.

Amongst the names listed are three NBA players in Luol Deng, Ben Gordon and for the first time Byron Mullens. There are some other new faces as well that will join Team GB in training camp, including Ovie Soko, who has moved up from the U20s squad. Also included is Sullivan Phillips, who plays for Previdza in Slovakia.

One name that is missing from the preliminary list is Justin Robinson.

For Gordon, this will be the first time he will represent GB this summer after injuries and personal commitments have kept him away. The British basketball public have voiced their opinion and are still a little unsure if he will be with the team in London.

“I am very excited to pull on the GB jersey this summer and play for my country,” Gordon said. “To be invited into camp is the first step in that journey and I am immensely proud to have the opportunity.”

British Basketball’s goal in December 2007 was to give basketball fans in Great Britain a national team they can be proud of and to steer both men’s and women’s teams to London 2012. Coach Chris Finch reflected about how far this programme has come.

“The GB basketball programme has com a long way since 2006 and the blend we have now of experienced talent wth the younger guys is fantastic to see,” he said. “We have the potential for a world class team who will surprise a few people this summer.”

GB Squad

Kieron Achara – Manresa (ESP)
Ogo Adegboye – APOEL (CYP)
Robert Archibald – Zaragoza (ESP)
Eric Boateng – Peristeri (GRE)
Matthew Bryan-Amaning – Hacettepe (TUR)
Dan Clark – Estudiantes (ESP)
Luol Deng – Chicago Bulls (USA)
Joel Freeland – Unicaja Malaga (ESP)
Ben Gordon – Detroit Pistons (USA)
Kyle Johnson – APOEL (CYP)
Mike Lenzly – CEZ Nymburk (CZE)
Andrew Lawrence – College of Charleston (USA-NCAA)
Alex Marcotullio – Northwestern (USA-NCAA)
Pops Mensah-Bonsu – Besiktas (TUR)
Byron Mullens – Charlotte Bobcats (USA)
Sullivan Phillips – Previdza (SVK)
Nate Reinking – Sheffield Sharks
Ryan Richards – Unattached
Ovie Soko – University of Alabama-Birmingham (USA-NCAA)
Andrew Sullivan – Leicester Riders
Devon Van Oostrum – Tarragona (ESP)




Show comments