Home Other Great Britain name final 12 for EuroBasket

Great Britain name final 12 for EuroBasket

Mansoor Ahmed

Great Britain have announced their final roster ahead of next week’s Eurobasket, where they will be housed in Istanbul, playing Latvia, Serbia, Belgium, Russia and hosts Turkey in Group D.

Jules Dang and Carl Wheatle reach the final stage after making the cut, while there is also room for Luke Nelson – all three make their debuts at a senior tournament as do Gabe Olaseni, Teddy Okereafor and Ben Mockford.

There are three changes from the 12 which saw them qualify from a group involving Hungary, Macedonia and Luxembourg last year and just six survivors from the squad from Britain’s last Eurobasket appearance in 2013.

Performances in preparation games have been encouraging despite a 1-5 record, particularly in defeats to Israel and particularly an 88-84 loss to Greece in London.

0 Jules Dang 6’1 21 Burgos (ESP)
1 Kyle Johnson 6’4 28 London Lightning (CAN)
2 Carl Wheatle 6’6 19 Biella (ITA)
3 Ben Mockford 6’1 28 Palma (ESP)
4 Andrew Lawrence 6’3 27 Champagne Chalon-Reims (FRA)
5 Teddy Okereafor 6’3 24 GS Kymis (GRE)
10 Dan Clark 6’10 28 Unattached
11 Gareth Murray 6’7 32 Glasgow Rocks (BBL)
13 Eric Boateng 6’11 31 St Vallier Basket Drome (FRA)
19 Luke Nelson 6’4 22 Gran Canaria (ESP)
20 Kieron Achara 6’10 34 Glasgow Rocks (BBL)
25 Gabe Olaseni 6’10 25 Fuenlabrada (ESP)
Show comments