Home Domestic Leagues Bristol Flyers retain four fan favourites

Bristol Flyers retain four fan favourites

Bristol Flyers have retained four first team players for the 2016-17 BBL campaign.

Greg Streete, Roy Owen, Jordan Ranklin and Chris Bourne will all return to the SGS WISE Arena for another year at the club.

The quartet become the first players to commit to Andreas Kapoulas’ squad for the forthcoming season in British Basketball’s top flight.

Long-term captain Streete has been with the club since its formation and now enters his 12th year playing for his home team.

“I’ve been really fortunate to represent my city for over a decade now and to see the development that the club has had since the beginning has been a blessing,” he told bristolflyers.co.uk

“I’m excited to be playing in the BBL for another year and seeing how far I can lead my team in the 2016-17 season.”

Bristol-born Ranklin is a product of SGS College’s successful basketball academy, whilst Roy Owen returns for his sixth year with the cub. The 28-year-old point guard is keen to help Flyers return to the BBL Play-Offs following a tenth-place finish last season.

“It’s great to be coming back for another year with the Flyers,” said Owen.

“Jordan and myself have played together for a number of years; we both know what each other brings to the team and we have 100% trust in one another.

“Last season was a tough year for the club on the court, but we’re excited to get back out there in front of a home crowd and really push for a Play-Off spot again this season.”

Chris Bourne, who made 16 appearances for the club last term, will also be back for another cam-paign.

Flyers’ head coach Kapoulas is pleased to have secured four key members of last season’s squad and added, “Greg, Roy, Jordan and Chris have all been with the team for a number of years and have really stepped up to the BBL challenge.

“It’s great to see all four of them return, they bring experience, work ethic and leadership to our 2016/17 roster, which will have some new additions to be announced soon.”

Flyers can also confirm Mathias Seilund, Tyrone Lee and Cardell McFarland will all leave the club along with Doug McLaughlin-Williams, following the expiration of their contracts.


Exit mobile version