Home NBA Referee admits potential game-costing error against Hawks

Referee admits potential game-costing error against Hawks

Photo: Atlanta Hawks/Twitter

With 3 seconds left to play in the fourth quarter of the game between the Hawks and Timberwolves, Minnesota was up by one point after Karl-Anthony Towns made two free-throws.

Atlanta managed to have two shot attempts during the remaining time. First De’Andre Hunter attempted a three-pointer after an inbound.

He missed the shot but the ball ended up in the hands of Saddiq Bey who attempted a shot but was stopped by Taurean Prince.

According to a pool report, Prince actually fouled Bey. A foul call would have sent Bey to the free-throw line where he could have sealed the game for the Hawks.

“On post-game review we see it.  It appears that Prince moves back into Bey’s space, and we should have assessed a foul on the play,” referee Ben Taylor said about the play.

“Looks like from one of the angles that we have, that he backs on the rebounding action as the ball is coming down, and he is moving backwards into him and delivers a little bit of contact there.”

CRAZY ENDING! Atlanta Hawks vs Minnesota Timberwolves Final Minutes ! 2022-23 NBA Season
Show comments

Exit mobile version