Home NBA NBA names the 15 greatest coaches in NBA history

NBA names the 15 greatest coaches in NBA history

Gregg Popovich Steve Kerr
Photo: D. Clarke Evans/Getty Images

The National Basketball Association today unveiled the 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History as part of the continuing celebration of the league’s 75th Anniversary Season.

The list was selected by a panel of 43 current and former NBA head coaches in collaboration with the National Basketball Coaches Association, which is led by President Rick Carlisle, the head coach of the Indiana Pacers, and Executive Director & General Counsel David Fogel.

The 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History, as revealed on TNT, are listed below in alphabetical order. 

Red Auerbach
K.C. Jones
Pat Riley
Larry Brown
Steve Kerr*
Doc Rivers*
Chuck Daly
Don Nelson
Jerry Sloan
Red Holzman
Gregg Popovich*
Erik Spoelstra*
Phil Jackson
Jack Ramsay
Lenny Wilkens
*Active NBA Head Coaches

The 15 honorees have collectively won more than 14,000 regular-season games, guided teams to 45 NBA championships and earned 16 NBA Coach of the Year awards across more than 300 head coaching seasons.

Show comments