Home FIBA Europe Cup Eurochallenge quarter-final line-up set

Eurochallenge quarter-final line-up set

By FIBA Europe

The EuroChallenge Quarter-Final Play-Off pairings have been decided following the conclusion of the Last 16 on Tuesday.

Fraport Skyliners, Avtodor Saratov, Trabzonspor Medical Park and EuroChallenge debutants Energia Tg-Jiu had secured their berths prior to the final game day, leaving four more spots up for grabs.

In Group I, Enel Basket Brindisi came from behind to defeat their hosts Energia Tg-Jiu 78-67 and follow the Romanian team into the play-offs as the second-placed team from the group. Brindisi enjoyed the edge over BC Astana, who equally finished on a 3-3 record, but had lost the head-to-head with the Italians.

Group J saw both French teams, JSF Nanterre and Le Mans, win their respective games on Tuesday to advance to the next stage. While Nanterre eased past Güssing Knights, 82-62, Le Mans had to sweat it out against Usak Sportif before eventually prevailing 82-79.

With both teams already qualified, Fraport Skyliners and Avtodor Saratov battled it out for top spot in Group K, with the Frankfurt side claiming a dramatic double-overtime win, 112-103.

In Group L, Enisey Krasnoyarsk took second spot behind Trabzonspor despite an 86-85 loss to visiting PO Antwerp Giants. The Belgians finished group play on a 3-3 record, like Enisey, but would have needed a win by 16 points or more to claim the head-to-head comparison with their Russian rivals.

The Quarter-Final Play-Off pairings are as follows:

Energia Tg-Jiu vs. Le Mans Sarthe Basket
JSF Nanterre vs. Enel Basket Brindisi
Fraport Skyliners vs. BC Enisey Krasnoyarsk
Trabzonspor Medical Park vs. Avtodor Saratov

The format of the Quarter-Final Play-Offs is a best-of-three series with the higher ranked team hosting the first game, and a third game if required. The games will take place on 10 and 12 March, with the third game, if necessary, scheduled for 17 March.

A decision about the venue of the Final Four, which is scheduled to take place from 24-26 April, will be announced following the conclusion of the Quarter-Final Play-Offs.

Exit mobile version