Home National Teams FIBA World Cup 2014 France name 12-man squad for World Cup; Diaw included

France name 12-man squad for World Cup; Diaw included

Photo: borisdiaw.com

European champions France have named their final 12-man squad for the FIBA World Cup, which starts on August 30.

San Antonio Spurs forward Boris Diaw and Portland Trailblazers star Nicolas Batum headlines the French line-up that will be without Eurobasket 2013 MVP Tony Parker and 7-footer Alexis Ajinca.

Charles Kahudi was the last player released from coach’s Vincent Collet’s roster, with Edwin jackson in the final 12.

Collet explained that Jackson would be a better fit this year as France need to be more attack-minded at the World Cup in the absence of Parker, who averaged 19.0 points a game at last year’s Eurobasket in Slovenia.

“Tony Parker’s absence and the modifications on the interior with the absence of [Alexis] Ajinca led to us to go for a more offensive profile of the team,” Collet said.

Les Bleus certainly need to have an offensive style in Spain as they are in the group of death at the World Cup. France will be housed in Group A, where the hosts, Serbia, Brazil, Iran and Egypt await. The French begin their campaign against the Brazilians.

France roster: Boris Diaw, Nicolas Batum, Mickael Gelabale, Nando De Colo, Rudy Gobert, Joffrey Lauvergne, Thomas Huertel, Ian Mahinmi, Antoine Diot, Edwin Jackson, Florent Pietrus, Evan Fournier.

Show comments